Alabama · Electrical licensing · official-source guide

Alabama electrical license requirements.

Alabama licenses electrical work statewide through the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors in Montgomery, a separate agency from the state plumbing board. The board licenses the individual, issuing Electrical Contractor and Journeyman Electrician credentials rather than registering companies. Running your own shop takes four years or 8,000 hours of supervisory electrical construction experience, a Prov or NASCLA exam at $165.00, and a $150.00 license fee.

State-level license

Yes

Public lookup

Verify a license

Verified against agency sources on 2026-09-12. Rules and fees change; confirm with the named authority before relying on this guide.

Who issues the Alabama electrical license

Alabama licenses electrical work at state level. The issuing agency is the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors, which mails from 100 N. Union Street, Suite 132, Montgomery, AL 36104 and publishes at aecb.alabama.gov. This is not the plumbing board. Plumbers and gas fitters answer to a separate Alabama board, and the two agencies run separate exams, separate fee schedules and separate rosters. The board licenses three things by its own description: Electrical Contractors, Journeyman Electricians, and Provisional Electrical Licensees. Its enabling law is the Alabama Electrical Contractors Act. Section 34-36-13 says that no person shall engage in the electrical contracting business or perform work as a master or journeyman electrician unless such person shall have received a license. Two board pages disagree on the code citation and both are primary. The board's Law and Regulations page prints the statute as Code of Alabama (1975), Section 34-31-1 et seq. The statute document that same page links, hosted on the board's own server, is titled and reads Section 34-36-1 et seq. The linked document is the one that contains the operative text quoted throughout this page. The board also points to the Alabama Administrative Code, Sections 303-X-1 through 303-X-A, published by the Legislative Services Agency. Alabama licenses the individual, not the company. There is no separate Alabama electrical business registration and no separate business fee. Instead, an active Electrical Contractor applicant files form EC-2, which attaches the licensed person to the electrical contracting organization that employs them or that they partner in. Counties and municipalities keep their own authority under Section 34-36-13 to require local examinations, but a board licensee is deemed qualified on presenting proper permits.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3aecb.alabama.gov 4aecb.alabama.gov 5admincode.legislature.state.al.us 6

The two credentials, and which one you actually need

The board runs two active grades. The Journeyman Electrician license covers the person who installs electrical wiring, apparatus or equipment. Section 34-36-3 defines a journeyman as a person who possesses the necessary qualifications, training and technical knowledge to install electrical wiring, apparatus or equipment, and who works under a master or state certified contractor. That is the working credential. It does not let you sell the job. The Electrical Contractor license covers the person or firm engaged in the business of soliciting and installing electrical power or control systems. That is the selling credential, and it is the one a shop owner needs. If you bid, contract, advertise and collect, you need the contractor license. If you only turn the work, the journeyman license is the one the board expects. A third grade is closing. Section 34-36-7(d) states that commencing May 15, 2024, no new provisional electrical contractor licenses may be issued by the board. Holders of existing provisional licenses still renew, and the board publishes a Provisional License Renewal Fee of $75.00, but the door to new provisional licensure is shut. Section 34-36-13 also carves out work the license does not reach. The exemptions include utility power systems, telephone systems, CATV technicians, work by a property owner, employees of an electric utility, retail appliance installation, and systems operating at 25 volts or less. That last line matters for anyone selling doorbells, thermostats or low voltage control work in Alabama. Read it before you assume a job is exempt, because the exemption is written around the system, not around the size of the invoice.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3

Experience and education the board counts

The board sets the experience bar on its own application forms, and the two grades are not the same. For the Electrical Contractor examination, the application requires a minimum of four years or 8,000 hours of supervisory electrical construction experience. Education can replace part of it. One year of education in an approved electrical curriculum or apprenticeship counts for 1,000 hours of electrical experience, and the substitution is capped at 2,000 hours. So schooling can carry a quarter of the requirement and no more. The statute reaches the same number from a different direction. Section 34-36-3 describes an electrical contractor as a person with four years of practical experience as a journeyman in charge of jobs, or four years in electrical systems design and construction. For the Journeyman Electrician examination, the application requires a minimum of 8,000 hours of experience, described as at least four years within the past eight years. The same education substitution applies: one year of approved curriculum or apprenticeship for 1,000 hours, to a maximum of 2,000 hours. The eight year window on the journeyman side is the part people miss. Hours that ran out a decade ago do not count toward a journeyman application, even though the raw hour total looks fine on paper. Keep dated payroll records and a signed verification from whoever supervised the work. The board issues form EVL-1 for verification of licensure from another state, and it issues a re-examination form, ERT-5, for candidates who have to sit again. Build the hour file before you apply rather than after the board asks.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3aecb.alabama.gov 4

The examination: Prov or the NASCLA portable

Alabama gives you two ways to pass. The board's exam applications list an Alabama examination delivered through Prov, at provexam.com, and a NASCLA portable examination as an alternative for the same grade. The Electrical Contractor application prices both at $165.00. The Journeyman Electrician application prices both at $115.00. The choice is worth thinking about. The Alabama exam is written for Alabama. The NASCLA portable exam is accepted by more than one state, so passing it once can travel with you. The statute permits the substitution directly. Section 34-36-7 requires the board to examine applicants and allows a national standardized or written examination proctored by an independent third party to stand in, where the board finds it substantially similar. The code reference matters more in electrical work than in most trades, because the exam is built around a specific edition of NFPA 70. The board's Forms and Testing Information page states that the examination references the 2023 NFPA 70 National Electrical Code, and that this reference runs through December 31, 2026. Study the edition the exam is keyed to, not the edition your city inspector enforces, because in Alabama those are two different books right now. Candidates who fail file form ERT-5, the re-examination form, and pay again. The board does not publish a question count, a time limit or a passing percentage on its public pages, so plan from Prov's candidate bulletin for those details and treat any number you see on a third party site as unverified.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3aecb.alabama.gov 4

Every fee the board publishes

The board prints a single fee page, and these are its figures. Electrical Contractor Examination Fee is $165.00. Journeyman Electrician Examination Fee is $115.00. Electrical Contractor License Fee is $150.00. Journeyman Electrician License Fee is $35.00. Electrical Contractor Renewal Fee is $150.00. Journeyman Electrician Renewal Fee is $35.00. Electrical Contractor Late Renewal Fee is $50.00 per year up to 5 years. An Inactive Electrical Contractor Certificate costs $75.00 and an Inactive Journeyman Electrician Certificate costs $15.00. A Reissuance or Replacement Card Fee is $25.00. The Provisional License Renewal Fee is $75.00. The Reciprocal License Application Fee is $315.00. The reciprocity application itself notes that the $315.00 figure took effect February 14, 2026. Two things follow from this list. First, the full first year cost of a contractor license through the Alabama exam route is $165.00 to test plus $150.00 to license, and the board charges nothing extra to attach your business through form EC-2. Second, the late structure is unusual. Contractor late renewal accrues at $50.00 a year and the board caps the recovery at five years, which means a lapsed contractor license is recoverable for a long time at a known price. Journeymen do not get that option. The board's renewal form states plainly that Journeyman licenses cannot be renewed late. The electrical contractor renewal form also warns that the $50.00 late fee is assessed on applications received after the last day of the month in which your license was to be renewed. Card payments carry a 4 percent convenience fee on the board's examination applications.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3aecb.alabama.gov 4

Insurance and bond: what Alabama does not require, and who does

The Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors does not publish a general liability minimum, a surety bond amount or a workers compensation threshold anywhere in the Alabama Electrical Contractors Act document it hosts or on its fees page. Form EC-2, the business information form an active contractor applicant files, asks for business name, addresses, contact information and a signed declaration that the applicant is employed by or is a partner or member of the electrical contracting organization. It does not ask for a certificate of insurance and it does not ask for a bond. That is the state picture. It is not the working picture. The requirement moves to the city. Huntsville's contractor license classification page states that trade contractors must carry contractors liability insurance before proceeding with construction. The city sets that condition as part of pulling the permit, not the state board. So an Alabama electrical contractor can hold a clean state license and still be unable to start a Huntsville job without a certificate of insurance in hand. Treat general liability as a commercial requirement rather than a licensing one. Your customers, your general contractors and your city permit desk will each ask, and none of them will accept the state license as a substitute. The practical order of operations is: pass the exam, take the state license, bind the liability policy and workers compensation coverage your city and your GCs require, then buy the local business license. Doing it in the other order leaves you licensed and idle.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3huntsvilleal.gov 4

Renewal, and the calendar that catches people

Section 34-36-8 sets the term loosely. It states that all licenses shall expire annually or at other times designated by the board. The board fills in the detail. Its renewal form ties the late penalty to a month rather than to a single statewide date: a $50.00 late fee is assessed to all Electrical Contractor license applications received after the last day of the month in which your license was to be renewed. That wording describes a staggered renewal, where your month is your own. Check the month printed on your card and set the reminder against that month, not against a December date you half remember. The board takes renewals online through its renewal portal and by mailed form. Journeymen carry a harder rule. The board's renewal form states that Journeyman licenses cannot be renewed late. There is no five year recovery ladder for a journeyman, so a missed renewal on that grade is a re-application problem rather than a fee problem. Contractors have room. The published Electrical Contractor Late Renewal Fee is $50.00 per year up to 5 years, which means the board will still take a contractor back four or five years out, at a stacked price. Two inactive statuses exist for people who step away rather than lapse. An Inactive Electrical Contractor Certificate is $75.00 and an Inactive Journeyman Electrician Certificate is $15.00. Inactive status is the cheaper way to park a credential during a year out of the trade, and it is far cheaper than the late ladder. Form ECS-1 is the board's change of status form.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3alecb-renew.kalmservices.net 4aecb.alabama.gov 5

Continuing education: 14 CEUs, and only on one grade

The board's continuing education page carries one sentence that governs the whole requirement: 14 CEU are required every odd year to renew. That is the number. It is not annual, and it is not tied to a rolling 24 month window. It is tied to odd numbered years. The same page states that Licensed Journeyman are currently NOT required to submit Continuing Education Hours to renew their license. So the CE burden in Alabama sits entirely on the Electrical Contractor grade. A shop where the owner holds the contractor license and four employees hold journeyman licenses has one person with a CE obligation, not five. Electrical CE in most states tracks the National Electrical Code revision cycle, and Alabama's odd year pattern lines up with the NEC's three year cycle only loosely, so do not assume your code update class alone satisfies the hours. The board publishes an approved provider list as a dated PDF and keeps a separate Continuing Education Hours search, run through the same vendor that runs the licensee search, where you can confirm the hours actually posted to your record. Check that search before you renew rather than trusting a provider's completion certificate. The board's own page does not publish a CE submission deadline separate from renewal, and it does not state a carryover rule for excess hours. Both of those are worth a phone call to Montgomery in the year you need them, because getting the hours posted late is a renewal problem rather than a paperwork problem.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2alecb-search.kalmservices.net 3

Reciprocity: nine named routes in

Alabama runs a real reciprocity program and names the states on its own site. The board's Forms and Testing Information page describes the Electrical Contractor Reciprocal Application as open to licensees of Mississippi, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee, North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina and Texas, and accepts NASCLA as a ninth route. That is unusually specific. Most boards say they may recognize comparable licensure and leave the list unpublished. The price is on the application itself: the fee for an initial reciprocal license is $315.00, with an effective date of February 14, 2026. Coming in this way does not skip testing entirely. The application states that reciprocal applicants must pass a business and law exam prior to being issued a license, and must submit a passing score sheet for the Alabama Business and Law Examination, delivered through provexam.com. So the trade knowledge travels and the Alabama specific business and law content does not. Reciprocal applicants also have to get verification of licensure sent from their current state. The board issues form EVL-1, Verification of License Request, for exactly that, and reciprocal applicants are told to obtain verification from the state where they currently hold the license. The statute behind all of this is Section 34-36-7(b), which says the board may recognize a license issued by any other state that, in the opinion of the board, has standards of practice or licensure equal to or higher than those required by this state. That is discretionary language, which is why the published state list matters more than the statute. If your state is not one of the nine, the reciprocal route is not available to you by right and the ordinary examination route applies.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3aecb.alabama.gov 4

What unlicensed electrical work carries in Alabama

Section 34-36-16 makes it unlawful for a person not licensed as an electrical contractor to solicit, represent, seek to perform, or perform those tasks and functions. Note how wide that verb list is. Soliciting is a violation on its own. You do not have to touch a panel to be in breach. Bidding the job, representing yourself as an electrical contractor, or seeking to perform the work all sit inside the prohibited conduct. The statute sets the grade of offense directly: any person convicted of such violation shall be punished as a Class A misdemeanor. Alabama's Class A misdemeanor sentencing range lives in the criminal code rather than in the board's act, and the board does not publish the maximum fine or jail term, so the specific numbers are not stated here. The board also runs an administrative track alongside the criminal one. It publishes a Disciplinary Actions page listing board actions against licensees, and it takes consumer complaints through a form on its Consumers section. For a licensed contractor, the exposure that actually bites is usually not the criminal charge. It is working outside your grade, or letting an unlicensed crew work under your number. Section 34-36-13 requires the license for the electrical contracting business and for master or journeyman work alike, so an unlicensed helper doing journeyman level installation on your ticket is a problem that lands on your license, not only on theirs. Keep a current roster of who on your crew holds what, and check it against the board's search before a job starts.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3

Where your license number has to appear

Alabama's display rule is narrow and specific, and contractors regularly assume it is broader than it is. Section 34-36-12 states that every person holding a license issued by the board shall display it in a conspicuous manner at his or her principal place of business. That is a physical posting requirement at one address. It is not a vehicle lettering rule and it is not, on the face of the Act, an advertising rule. The Alabama Electrical Contractors Act as published by the board contains no provision requiring the license number on trucks, on yard signs, on written estimates or on a website, and the board's fee page, forms page and consumer pages do not add one. The board's administrative rules at Sections 303-X-1 through 303-X-A may carry more detail, but the Legislative Services Agency publishes that code through a JavaScript application whose rule text could not be retrieved, so no rule level advertising requirement is asserted here. What this means in practice is that the advertising exposure in Alabama runs through Section 34-36-16 instead. That section makes it unlawful for an unlicensed person to solicit or represent, which reaches false advertising of capability rather than omission of a number. Two rules follow. Post the physical license at your principal place of business, because that one is explicit. And do not advertise electrical contracting capability you are not licensed to sell, because soliciting is itself the violation. Putting your license number on estimates and ads is still worth doing. Customers check it, and city permit desks ask for it.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2admincode.legislature.state.al.us 3aecb.alabama.gov 4

What the license lets you call yourself

The board issues three titles and those are the words to use. Its own site describes the credentials it issues as Electrical Contractor, Journeyman Electrician and Provisional Electrical Licensee. Section 34-36-3 defines an electrical contractor as a person, firm or corporation engaged in the business of soliciting and installing electrical power or control systems, and defines a journeyman electrician as a person qualified to install electrical wiring, apparatus or equipment who works under a master or state certified contractor. If you hold the journeyman license only, calling your business an electrical contractor in an advertisement runs straight into Section 34-36-16, which reaches representing and soliciting as well as performing. The word master needs care. Section 34-36-13 uses the phrase master or journeyman electrician when it states who must be licensed, but the board's published credential list does not include a separate master electrician license. Advertising yourself as a master electrician in Alabama therefore describes a title the board does not currently issue, which is a claim you cannot point to a certificate to support. Say what your card says. Provisional holders should be plainer still, since Section 34-36-7(d) closed new provisional licensure on May 15, 2024 and the status is winding down. Customers cannot check a word, but they can check a number. The board's consumer tips page tells them to check with the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors before hiring anyone to provide electrical work, and to verify with local city and county authorities as well. Give them the number and let the roster do the arguing.

Sourcesaecb.alabama.gov 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3

The 2020 NEC, and why your city may enforce a newer one

Alabama adopts the National Electrical Code at state level through the State Building Code, which is maintained by the Alabama Division of Construction Management in the Department of Finance. The DCM building code page lists 2020 National Electrical Code (NFPA 70) with an effective date of July 1, 2022. The rest of that adoption is 2021 International codes: the International Building Code, Existing Building Code, Plumbing Code, Fuel Gas Code, Mechanical Code and Fire Code, all effective July 1, 2022, with the IBC, IMC and IFC amended March 17, 2025. NFPA 72, the Fire Alarm and Signaling Code, is adopted at the 2019 edition. Three editions of NFPA 70 are in play for an Alabama electrical contractor at once, and confusing them costs money. The state building code runs on the 2020 NEC. Birmingham's 2024 Technical Code also runs on the 2020 NEC. The board's licensing examination, by contrast, is keyed to the 2023 NFPA 70 through December 31, 2026 per its Forms and Testing Information page. So you sit an exam on one edition and wire jobs to another. Keep both books. When you quote a job, quote to the edition the authority having jurisdiction has adopted, not to the edition you studied. Ask the permit desk which edition applies before you price GFCI, AFCI or service equipment work, because those are the articles that move most between cycles and they are where the cost difference between editions shows up on a bid.

Sourcesdcm.alabama.gov 1dcm.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com 4

Huntsville and Birmingham

Huntsville is Alabama's largest city and it layers a city requirement on top of the state license. The city's contractor license classification page groups Plumbing, Gas, Mechanical, Electrical and Landscaping Contractors together and states that these contractors must be certified by the appropriate State Board covering that disciplining trade. It also states that these contractors must purchase permits for their trade, must hold a current privilege license under Ordinance 93-725, and must carry contractors liability insurance before proceeding with construction. Huntsville routes contractor and subcontractor licenses and building permits through the Inspection Division rather than through the general business license desk, and it publishes a separate contractor business license fee schedule whose amounts are not reproduced here. The city's business licensing page confirms that a business or privilege license is required for commercial and residential based businesses operating in the City of Huntsville. Birmingham works differently. Its adopted code is the Birmingham Technical Code, 2024 Edition, effective October 1, 2024, which adopts the National Electrical Code, 2020 Edition at Section 101, Part 1(e), alongside the 2021 International codes and the 2021 NFPA 101 Life Safety Code. Birmingham also carves out low voltage: Section 105.8.3 exempts low voltage wiring as described in the NEC from having to be installed under an electrical permit by a licensed electrician, while still requiring a proper business license for that work. Birmingham runs permits through the Department of Planning, Engineering and Permits and an online permit center. Check both the trade license and the privilege license before you cross a city line.

Sourceshuntsvilleal.gov 1huntsvilleal.gov 2huntsvilleal.gov 3birminghamal.gov 4s3.us-east-2.amazonaws.com 5birminghamal.gov 6

The other license you may need: general contractor at $100,000

An Alabama electrical contractor license does not cover general contracting, and the threshold where the second license starts is lower than most electrical shops expect once they begin taking design build or tenant improvement work. The Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, at 445 Dexter Ave, Suite 3060, Montgomery, AL 36104, publishes the definition from Chapter 8 of Title 34. A general contractor is one who undertakes to construct or superintend the construction, alteration, maintenance, repair, rehabilitation, remediation, reclamation or demolition of any building, highway, sewer, structure, site work, grading, paving or project or any improvement in the State of Alabama where the cost of the undertaking including labor and materials is $100,000 or more. Swimming pool construction crosses at a much lower figure, $5,000 or more. The trigger is the cost of the undertaking, not the size of your electrical scope inside it. An electrical contractor who signs a prime contract for a $120,000 building fit out is superintending construction of an improvement above the threshold, even if most of the value is electrical. Staying a subcontractor to a licensed general keeps you clear of that chapter. Taking the prime does not. The general contractor board runs its own applications, testing, renewals and roster search, separate from the electrical board, and it publishes its statutory definition on its Law page. If your shop is moving toward prime contracts, price the second license into that decision before you sign, because the board's jurisdiction attaches at the contract, not at the permit.

Sourcesgenconbd.alabama.gov 1genconbd.alabama.gov 2

How a customer checks your Alabama electrical license

The board runs a public licensee search and links it from both its Licensees section and its Consumers section. The search lives at alecb-search.kalmservices.net and is the roster a homeowner, a general contractor or a procurement officer will actually open. The same vendor hosts the board's Continuing Education Hours lookup, so a contractor can confirm posted CE against the record before renewal. The board tells consumers directly what to do. Its consumer tips page says to check with the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors before hiring anyone to provide electrical work, and it goes further than most boards by telling the customer to also verify with local city and county authorities about required licenses and the contractor's local licensure status. That second step is the one that catches unprepared shops in Huntsville and Birmingham, where the city privilege license is a separate record from the state roster. The board also publishes a Disciplinary Actions page, so a customer who searches your name can find board action as well as license status. Complaints come in through the board's Consumer Complaint Form under the Consumers section. Three practical moves follow. Search your own name the way a customer would and confirm the spelling, business name and status the roster shows. Put the license number on your estimates and your site so the customer does not have to guess which record is yours. And keep your local privilege license current, because the board's own consumer guidance sends buyers to city hall as well as to Montgomery.

Sourcesalecb-search.kalmservices.net 1aecb.alabama.gov 2aecb.alabama.gov 3aecb.alabama.gov 4aecb.alabama.gov 5

What we could not confirm

These are common details other guides publish about Alabama, but we could not verify them from the agency source. Confirm them directly before relying on them.

  • The statutory citation for the Alabama electrical licensing chapter. The board's Law and Regulations page prints Code of Alabama (1975), Section 34-31-1 et seq., while the statute document that same page links, hosted on the board's own server, is titled and reads Section 34-36-1 et seq. Both are primary board publications and they disagree, so both are reported rather than one being chosen.
  • The maximum fine and jail term for the Class A misdemeanor in Section 34-36-16. The Act names the offense class but the board publishes no sentencing figures, and the Alabama sentencing statute sits outside the board's site.
  • The text of Alabama Administrative Code Sections 303-X-1 through 303-X-A. The board links the Legislative Services Agency admin code, but that site serves rule text only through a JavaScript application and a persisted-query API that returned no rule content, so no board rule numbers for continuing education, advertising or renewal dates are cited here.
  • The question count, time limit and passing percentage for the Alabama electrical contractor and journeyman examinations. The board's exam applications and Forms page give the vendor and the fee but publish no exam specification.
  • The exact renewal expiration date for Alabama electrical licenses. Section 34-36-8 says licenses expire annually or at other times designated by the board, and the renewal form ties the late fee to the month in which the license was to be renewed, which indicates staggered renewal, but no fixed statewide date is published.
  • Huntsville contractor business license fee amounts for electrical contractors. The city's license classification page states the state certification, trade permit, privilege license and liability insurance requirements and links a separate contractor business license fee schedule whose amounts were not readable from the page itself.
  • A minimum general liability limit or bond amount for Alabama electrical contractors. No figure appears on the board's fees page, in form EC-2 or in the Act the board publishes. Huntsville requires contractors liability insurance without publishing a limit on its classification page.
  • Fee amounts for the Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors. That board's Law page publishes the $100,000 general contracting threshold and the $5,000 swimming pool threshold but no application, license or bond figures were read from it.
  • Birmingham electrical permit fee amounts. The Permitting and Inspection Division pages describe the online permit center and permit guide without publishing an electrical fee table.
  • Whether the list of reciprocity states appears on the reciprocal application itself. The board's Forms and Testing Information page names Mississippi, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee, North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina, Texas and NASCLA as the eligible routes, but the reciprocal application PDF that page links does not enumerate states, referring to reciprocal agreements generically. The state list is therefore attributed to the forms page rather than to the application.

Alabama electrical licensing questions

Does Alabama license electricians at state level?

Yes. The Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors issues Electrical Contractor and Journeyman Electrician licenses statewide under the Alabama Electrical Contractors Act. Section 34-36-13 requires a license to engage in the electrical contracting business or to work as a master or journeyman electrician. Counties and cities keep separate authority to require local examinations and privilege licenses.

Does Alabama license the person or the company?

The person. Alabama issues the license to the individual by grade and charges no separate business registration fee. An active Electrical Contractor applicant files form EC-2, which attaches the licensed person to the electrical contracting organization employing them. There is no standalone Alabama electrical business license on the board's fee schedule.

What does an Alabama electrical contractor license cost?

The board publishes an Electrical Contractor Examination Fee of $165.00 and an Electrical Contractor License Fee of $150.00. Renewal is $150.00. The Journeyman Electrician equivalents are $115.00 to test, $35.00 to license and $35.00 to renew. Card payments on exam applications carry a 4 percent convenience fee.

How much experience does the contractor exam require?

The board's Electrical Contractor examination application requires a minimum of four years or 8,000 hours of supervisory electrical construction experience. One year of approved electrical curriculum or apprenticeship substitutes for 1,000 hours, capped at 2,000 hours total. Section 34-36-3 describes four years as a journeyman in charge of jobs or in electrical systems design and construction.

How much experience does the journeyman exam require?

The board's Journeyman Electrician examination application requires a minimum of 8,000 hours of experience, described as at least four years within the past eight years. The same education substitution applies, at 1,000 hours per year of approved curriculum or apprenticeship, to a maximum of 2,000 hours. The eight year window is the part applicants overlook.

Which National Electrical Code edition is the Alabama exam based on?

The board's Forms and Testing Information page states the examination references the 2023 NFPA 70 National Electrical Code through December 31, 2026. That is the exam reference. The Alabama State Building Code adopts the 2020 NEC, effective July 1, 2022, so the code you test on and the code you wire to can differ.

How much continuing education does Alabama require?

The board's continuing education page states that 14 CEU are required every odd year to renew. The same page states that Licensed Journeyman are currently NOT required to submit Continuing Education Hours to renew. So the requirement falls on the Electrical Contractor grade only, on an odd year cycle rather than annually.

What happens if I renew late?

The board publishes an Electrical Contractor Late Renewal Fee of $50.00 per year up to 5 years, and its renewal form assesses that fee on applications received after the last day of the month in which the license was to be renewed. The same form states that Journeyman licenses cannot be renewed late.

Which states does Alabama give electrical reciprocity to?

The board's Forms and Testing Information page names Mississippi, Louisiana, Ohio, Tennessee, North Carolina, Virginia, South Carolina and Texas, and accepts NASCLA. The application sets the fee for an initial reciprocal license at $315.00, effective February 14, 2026. Reciprocal applicants must still pass a business and law exam and submit verification from their current state.

Does Alabama require electrical contractors to carry insurance or a bond?

The board publishes no general liability minimum, no surety bond amount and no workers compensation figure on its fees page, in form EC-2 or in the Act it hosts. Huntsville does require contractors liability insurance before proceeding with construction, so the requirement arrives at the city permit desk rather than at the state board.

Does my license number have to appear on my ads or my trucks?

Section 34-36-12 requires only that a licensee display the license in a conspicuous manner at the principal place of business. The Act as published by the board carries no vehicle, website or advertising number requirement. Section 34-36-16 still reaches soliciting or representing electrical contracting capability without a license, which covers false advertising of capability.

How does a customer verify an Alabama electrical license?

Through the board's licensee search at alecb-search.kalmservices.net, linked from its Licensees and Consumers pages. The board's consumer tips also tell buyers to verify with local city and county authorities about required licenses and local licensure status. The board publishes a Disciplinary Actions page and takes complaints through its Consumer Complaint Form.

Licensed and still hard to find in Alabama?

We can review the local market, your current search visibility, and paid-search fit before recommending any marketing work.